Zamboanga Mi Amor

Some of you may not know this but I actually grew up in a very conservative family. Don’t get me wrong, I have a very fun and loving fambam but compared to the families I have engaged with living here in the Metro (where my friends can openly talk about things with their parents, go home late, dress up in whichever manner they are comfortable with blah blah) mine, on the other hand are set with limitations. Limitations over the top! 🙂

I guess that’s why I’m living two worlds. One, in the world I should be in and the other, the world I “haven’t been,  should not be in, but would love to try”. It seems like it’s working and things are the way it should be in both worlds. The culprit begins when my two super friends from my second world K and L decided to book us tickets to Zamboanga. Yes. Where I grew up. Where my family are. *gulp*

Have I thought about his ten thousand times? NO. It all happened one rainy afternoon in one of our random CRAZY chat over facebook and TADAH! flight scheduled january 2013.

I thought of a lot of schemes.. evil plans.. offered other cities to visit.. but these two persistent gals won’t give in SOOOOOOOO…

err...

err…

they left me with no choice.

Yeah. I called my mom two days before our flight and told her about me going home bringing two dead bodies.

yes. I'm joking.

yes. I’m joking.

Told her about me bringing two of my friends from Manila and she got so excited which is kinda weird. She always calls me ever since that day to ask if we wanted to visit this place and that place and blah blah.

weird.

Anyway, I was just hoping that K and L won’t do silly things that may upset them. kakaloka, tense ako araw araw.

When I saw my inah (mom) she smiled at me and hugged K and L first. YUNG TOTOO?!?!?!?!?

I just took it as a sign that everything’s gonna be alright. I just need to relax and be a good host and make sure they enjoy zambo. 🙂

image

1st day. We brought them to our families ancestral island. wow! island! LOL.charot lang. Brought them at Siromon Island. We were in the boat for three DREADFUL hours. K and I were just cool about the big waves habang naninigas si L.. hihiihi

siromon island zamboanga city

inah what are you doing?

inah what are you doing?

siakol island zamboanga

with my 16 year old sister and L.. makaheight lang sila

with my 16 year old sister and L.. makaheight lang sila

my inah! :)

my ummah na naaliw sa underwatercam ni K..

my ummah na naaliw sa underwatercam ni K..

We drank lotsa lotsa buko juice and forgot about the 3 DREADFUL hours that we would have to face going home and the buko juice that we drank did not helped us in any way. There were no comfort room in that mini boat. Yes. Nagtiis kame. Three. Painful. Hours.

shhhhhhhhshhhhhhhhshhhhhhhhh (if you know what I mean)

shhhhhhhhshhhhhhhhshhhhhhhhh (if you know what I mean)

2nd day. Tamad tamaran mode with the girls. I showed them some of my pics when we were younger, books, Qurans, etc. K and L were so eager to learn more about our culture 🙂

quran

chillin like a villain

chillin like a villain

I got it from my mommaah!

I got it from my mommaah!

We then went out at noontime and I brought them to one of my favorite bar-b-q place when I was little, the Puericulture.

puericulture

kome ta! :)

kome ta! 🙂

meet pusit!

Pasonanca Park 🙂

image

image

image

image

image

Paseo del Mar

image
image

image

image

image

3rd day. Woke up
early so my inah will have time to accompany us to.. ehem.. Basilan. From Zamboanga City you can just ride a ferry going to Basilan and it will only take around 45 mins. Like K and L, it was also my first time to visit the city so we share the same excitement..

image

image

image

image
image

image

image

image

image

image

image

We then went home before lunchtime because my very busy mom had a meeting at school. K, L and moi went straight to paseo del mar to check if the boat ride to Sta. Cruz Island (Pink sand beach and listed top 9 at CNN’s best beaches in the Philippines) is still available. Since we were too late we rented a boat going to the island for Php 1,000.00 all for ourselves. :D:D:D

image

image
image

image

image

image

We also went out that night -which my mom did not approved of- but what the heck, I’m 25 and I have visitors sooooo.. ayun matigas na ako ehhh CHOS.


image

Went home late, cold treatment from my mother in the morning.. hihi.. sorry naaaa..

4th day. Merloquet Falls with the fambam

We then rented a van going to one of zamboanga’s new tourist attraction which is the Merloquet falls. We reached a point wherein we needed to get out of the van and hike. This is where L shined bright like a diamond… LOL reyna sya ng kagubatan kaya deds sya sa pagakyat baba sa bundok– palibhasa anak ng Baguio 😛

image

image

image

Needed to go home right away, didn’t want to miss our flight in the afternoon. But before that we drank wine inside my room.. SORRY TALAGA INAH! huling hirit na yun promise! 🙂

image
image

image

image

Overall it was fun. It’s somehow nice that I get to bring two of my friends to my real world. Kung si jaycee gonzal ay may “word collision” ako may “world collision”!! Nyoort.. last ko na to! Haha! Sana may part two!

And I hope you could visit zamboanga too. Despite the negative news about my hometown I can still say that its a safe place to go to and it is such a promising city. Rich in culture, traditions and natural resources. Zamboanga, mi amor 🙂

image

Leave a Reply

